Query for On The Fringe

Share your blood sweat tears query for feedback and lend your hard-won expertise to others
superduperkool

Query for On The Fringe

Post by superduperkool » June 7th, 2010, 5:56 pm

This is my first time posting. I have submitted my query to a few agents with no luck. I was hoping people could look at the first two paragraphs and offer suggestions.
Thanks

Dear Literary Agent,

Lucy is the typical post graduate dreaming of the perfect job as a historian. After applying at museums, community colleges, fast food restaurants, and as body guard for Britney Spears, she is still unemployed months later. With a dwindling bank account, her options are homelessness, or a rusty futon in her father’s basement in Iowa. Trapped behind three concrete walls and a door made of her old Backstreet Boy’s sheets, Sally can’t see life beyond her basement walls. The day after her boyfriend dumps her, she gets hired at Cowboy Cal's Pizza Corral. She is hired immediately at the children's restaurant because the prepubescent manager thinks she is a sexy cougar at the age of 25. With minimum wage, a sexually harassing boss, daisy dukes, and push up bras, can Sally put her life back together one bad tip and pizza slice at a time?

I am seeking representation for my 75,000 word literary fiction novel On the Fringe. There is a market for this book because many people don’t find that perfect job after college. As an unemployed post graduate myself, I wrote this book for all of the people whose post graduation dreams didn’t come true. With a little humor, self bar tending, bad reality television marathons, and an adjustment of her post graduation visions, Sally creates a life for herself in unexpected places.

L.M. Pruitt

Re: Query for On The Fringe

Post by L.M. Pruitt » June 7th, 2010, 6:14 pm

My thoughts in red.

Dear Literary Agent,