Afraid to start writing again

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
marenst

Afraid to start writing again

Post by marenst » August 24th, 2011, 1:55 am

I'm an unpublished wannabe author about to start the third draft of my first book, but just thinking about it makes my stomach swirl! It's like all the insecurities I've ever felt in my entire life are saying, "Quit wasting your time. No one will ever read it--why spend hundreds of hours more working on it?" Is this normal (I think it is)? Is anyone actually confident through the writing process? Just hoping to pick your brains. Thanks.

Beethovenfan

Re: Afraid to start writing again

Post by Beethovenfan » August 24th, 2011, 3:23 am

I think most of us have lived where you are, marenst. It's part of the process. Best thing to do is let the feelings come (because they will no matter what you do), embrace them even, and push through them until you get that third draft done. Then do it again when you have to do your fourth, knowing all the while that it is completely NORMAL!
Hope that helps. ;)
"Don't only practice your art, but force your way into its secrets, for it and knowledge can raise men to the divine."
~ Ludwig van Beethoven

Hillsy

Post by Hillsy » August 24th, 2011, 6:13 am

Firstly - check out rule 3: http://www.sfwriter.com/ow05.htm : Are you working on novel 2?

Yeah I'm in this bubble too, and probably for very similar reasons to yourself - a caustic mix of self-doubt, poor, conflicting or non-existent feedback, a belief in objective worth, lack of validation and lacking the confidence to treat each issue with the merit it deserves. Trust me, I'm exactly the same. Firstly, check out the below links (especially the first 2 points on the first post and the penultimate paragraph on the second). Scalzi has a very down to earth approach that, as well meaning and positive as it is, is often lacking in the advice usually given to aspiring writers.