US or UK spelling in a query/manuscript

Submission protocol, query etiquette, and strategies that work
Icy

US or UK spelling in a query/manuscript

Post by Icy » February 6th, 2010, 4:50 am

I'm an Australian and I spell using Australian english (customise that colour, would you). If I was submitting to a US agent should the query letter/sample pages/manuscript be re done with US spelling, or is UK/Australian spelling fine?

Thanks

Icy

Holly

Re: US or UK spelling in a query/manuscript

Post by Holly » February 6th, 2010, 6:24 am

Icy wrote:I'm an Australian and I spell using Australian english (customise that colour, would you). If I was submitting to a US agent should the query letter/sample pages/manuscript be re done with US spelling, or is UK/Australian spelling fine?

Thanks

Icy
Hello, Icy. I'm no expert, but I've heard U.S. spelling for manuscripts that U.S. agents will send to U.S. publishers. One of the experts here might give you a better answer.

Username

Post by Username » February 6th, 2010, 6:36 am

Why not just change the spelling before submitting it?

Nick

Post by Nick » February 6th, 2010, 7:34 am