The literary agent is also a practicing author - say what?

Submission protocol, query etiquette, and strategies that work
Username

The literary agent is also a practicing author - say what?

Post by Username » January 19th, 2010, 10:39 pm

I've searched this forum (and maybe I simply missed seeing the thread), but it astonishes me that people haven't brought up the issue of the literary agent also being a practicing novelist.

Here's what Mr. Bransford has listed near the top of his web-page.

"I'm a literary agent with the San Francisco office of Curtis Brown Ltd. and the author of JACOB WONDERBAR AND THE COSMIC SPACE KAPOW, which will be published by Dial Books for Young Readers in 2011."

I would've thought that people would've objected to this, for what should be the obvious reason. If you're an unpublished writer in today's market, which, obviously, is incredibly competitive, then, basically, you're a bottom-feeder, with virtually no power whatsoever. There's always the possibility that you might have a great book on your hands - but simply because you're an 'unpublished nobody' your queries aren't receiving the attention they deserve. So what happens then if you've come up with an absolutely brilliant idea for a novel, but for whatever reasons, the literary agent doesn't like the execution? What happens if, in one page, you've explained the plot of your novel - a plot on which you've perhaps been chipping away at for years - and the literary agent, a practicing writer, subconsciously allows it to enter his mind?

There's a movie titled 'Coming To America' (you've probably seen it) in which the original screenwriter had his work plagiarized by Paramount Pictures.

From Wikipedia: