Form vs Personalised?

Submission protocol, query etiquette, and strategies that work
Heather B

Form vs Personalised?

Post by Heather B » July 24th, 2010, 1:46 am

So I've heard this spoken about quite a bit in the query process and my question is; how do you tell the difference? I have no experience to go by but I'd kind of like to know when an agent has sent a form and just tacked my name on the beginning.

Also, how did you feel when you received your first form? Or even better, have you never had one?
Journey to the Cuckoo's Nest

http://heathermbryant.blogspot.com.au/

Nick

Re: Form vs Personalised?

Post by Nick » July 24th, 2010, 8:18 am

Well, sometimes things are very obviously form. Like this old thing:
Thank you for querying Browne & Miller Literary Associates about your book project.

We have carefully evaluated your materials and regrettably, your project is not a right fit for our agency. We currently have a very full clientele and must be highly selective about the new projects we pursue.

Thank you again for thinking of us. Please know that we wish you much success in all of your writing and publishing endeavors.

Sincerely yours,

Browne & Miller Literary Associates
or like Nathan's form letter. In fact, all of the forms sitting in that old account are like that. Vague, I don't really want to use the phrase "put down" but in my current half-asleep-ness all I've got is "put down very gently", and, aside from Nathan's, they read like they were pulled out of a stack of company paper. All the form rejections follow a same basic format as well: Thank you for your submission, sorry we don't think we're the right person/agency, hopefully you have better luck elsewhere.

Personalised rejections...I ain't never been there so I can't speak for that, but one would imagine the three components of a form would still be in there, somehow.