How much personal information to include in a query

Submission protocol, query etiquette, and strategies that work
RiayNight

How much personal information to include in a query

Post by RiayNight » December 23rd, 2009, 4:12 pm

Hi everyone! My name is Jordan and this is my first post here at Nathan's forums. I've been an avid reader of his blog for about six months now, and I look forward to participating in the forums as well :)

That having been said, I have a question that needs a few fellow writer opinions--How much personal information should I include in my query?

Now, I know that you don't want to waste words and an agent's time by giving them your whole personal life and back story, so this question is specific to my situation. I'm a sophomore Creative Writing major in college right now, and I've finished my first manuscript which is currently going through it's second full edit, and I plan to be querying by January. However, like I said, I'm only a sophomore in college and I have zero publishing credits to my name. Right now, the final paragraph of my query simply reads: [TITLE] falls into the Young Adult Paranormal category, and consists of XXX words. It is my first novel, and the complete manuscript is available at your request. Thank you for your time and consideration.

I personally like that just fine, but I'm wondering if an agent would crave a little more personal information. On the other end of the spectrum, I don't want to be advertising the fact that I'm only twenty years old and that I'm a college student.

So, what do you all think? Is the ending paragraph sufficient, or should I think about including a little bit more information?

Thanks everybody!

Bryan Russell/Ink

Re: How much personal information to include in a query

Post by Bryan Russell/Ink » December 23rd, 2009, 7:20 pm