Internships

News, trends, and the future of publishing
EMC

Internships

Post by EMC » August 5th, 2010, 3:14 pm

Dear All,
I wish to apply to literary agencies and publishers for internships, and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for helping me write a winning email/letter?

(I know I'm a 'writer' and should be able to do this myself - but I write fiction, so unless I make the whole thing up...)

So far I have:

Dear Sir/Madam (obviously this will be personalised.)
I wish to enquire of the possibility of an internship at your company. I am a fiction writer, beginning a Masters in Creative Writing in Trinity College Dublin, this Autumn. I have previously been long listed for the Fish Short Story award (2009).

I am an avid reader, and after graduating with a Masters next year, I foresee a career in the publishing industry, as a literary agent/reader. (Delete as appropriate). I am currently completing two novels and a short story collection, as well as an illustrated children’s book – on the side.

In a previous life, I was an architectural technician, which has given me a training in attention to detail, results oriented action and project management skills, as well as client/contractor negotiation skills!

etc etc.

Any ideas?
Would greatly appreciate anyone's help.

Thanks!
EMC

polymath

Re: Internships

Post by polymath » August 5th, 2010, 4:09 pm

Internships are an entry level position, rarely paid, generally in a hands-on learning enviroment. A cover letter for an intern position query probably is best for introductions and detailing reasons for interests. In other words, showing a willingness to learn, to stay on task no matter how trivial or grueling it might seem, to participate as a team player, and to meaningfully contribute to the operation.