What're the challenges facing in the Self-Publisher's world?

News, trends, and the future of publishing
ebookcoverr

What're the challenges facing in the Self-Publisher's world?

Post by ebookcoverr » February 16th, 2015, 7:38 am

Hello Self-Publisher!

I am a newbie on this forum. I am actually a freelancer designer working on free and customized e-book covers for people like you. I want to make my free service specified, so I'd appreciate if you can answer or discuss on my one simple question: What are the biggest challenges you facing in the Self-Publisher's world today?

There is no bad or good answer. ;) Thanks.

longknife

Re: What're the challenges facing in the Self-Publisher's world?

Post by longknife » February 16th, 2015, 1:53 pm

Marketing your works!!!!

Established publishers pay smaller royalties because the put a lot of $$$$ in publicizing/marketing their products. They also have established distribution points.

Let's say you self-publish on Kindle or CreateSpace paperback for Amazon.com. Where are you going to get the money to:

a - pay for reviewers to give your work the good word?
b - advertise in the various publications?
c - make a lot of copies to sit on store shelves?

The way the most successful self-publishers are that way because they crank out book after book and catch the eyes of potential buyers. It's a self-generating game. Write a lot of works and get decent reviews which increases the visibility and chances of being bought by readers.

And there is this - we are often so engrossed in telling our story at length that we ignore how to sell it as briefly and eye-catching as possible. How many novelists could make a living working in an ad agency?
Drop by Father Serra's Legacy http://msgdaleday.blogspot.com. Comments always eagerly awaited - but only if you find the item interesting enough to respond to.

ebookcoverr

Post by ebookcoverr » February 17th, 2015, 7:07 am

Thank you longknife!