Createspace for POD???

News, trends, and the future of publishing
a-scribe28

Createspace for POD???

Post by a-scribe28 » September 27th, 2014, 1:53 pm

I'm a first time author hard at work on my first novel, and was thinking of choosing Createspace as my publish on demand option, then later using Bookbaby for an ebook version. I was wondering if CS has a great distribution reach globally, and if the author gets more than simply breaking even on receiving payment? I do realize their are printing and shipping costs in POD, but shouldn't the author enjoy getting paid more for each unit sold without printing and shipping costs weighing them down, and forced to go to ebook only for selling all their novels to see a healthy return in funds? so my question is, is CS a good option for a first time author as myself who seeks, global distribution reach, not costly to publish with editing, cover design costs ect., and will I enjoy a nice return if my book hits it big using Createspace?

polymath

Re: Createspace for POD???

Post by polymath » September 27th, 2014, 3:47 pm

CreateSpace is one of three economical print book manufacturers and online distributors: Lulu and Xlibris the other two, each with advantages and disadavantges that weigh decisions.

Each is sales driven as regards writer revenue and manufacturer revenue, similar cost, profit, and revenue metrics more or less. They manufacture and distribute books, independently and through online booksellers. Each offers global reach distribution package options. Format standards for international distribution limits options, paper type, cover design and type, typeface, and page dimensions.