Are you more likely to buy a book that won an award?

Recommendations, discussions, and odes to your favorites
Nathan Bransford

Are you more likely to buy a book that won an award?

Post by Nathan Bransford » November 18th, 2010, 12:09 pm

The National Book Awards were announced last night, and it got me to thinking. Are you more likely to buy a book that has won a major award? Do you factor that in when thinking of what to read next?

charlotte49ers

Re: Are you more likely to buy a book that won an award?

Post by charlotte49ers » November 18th, 2010, 12:16 pm

Yes, but my answer might be a little skewed. I don't really pay as *much* attention to awards in regards to the young adult or adult novels I buy, but I'm an elementary school teacher and I try to have as many Newbery and Caldecotts in my classroom library as I can (which I also read before bringing them into the classroom).

longknife

Post by longknife » November 18th, 2010, 12:36 pm

Well, I'm probably opposite of most here. I definitely DO NOT consider buying a book or watching a film/tv program because of awards. IMHO, they're mostly people of the same persuasion who're trying to soothe each other's egos.

I've even found that reviews sometimes turn me off. You've got a bunch of "professional reviewers" who are trying to tell the average reader what's good or bad.

I've also got to admit that I mostly buy books by writers I know but will occassional buy books based on the blurb in the back or inside. Same holds true with films - depends on the trailers - and even then, I find myself disappointed by some.

Nicole R

Post by Nicole R » November 18th, 2010, 1:06 pm

Nope - doesn't matter to me at all. I buy books based on the author, the cover and/or the back cover copy. Plus any good word of mouth.

HillaryJ

Post by HillaryJ » November 18th, 2010, 1:44 pm