The secret to self-promotion

Blogs, Facebook, Twitter, and promoting your book on the Internet
materurbium

The secret to self-promotion

Post by materurbium » June 20th, 2011, 11:23 am

Hi y'all. I'm new to this forum. Greetings from Prague.

I've been following Nathan's blog for a little while. I'm a writer like most of you probably are, and I've brought this up the topic of self-promotion in other forums. But I'm curious to know what experience any of you have, and what you consider important with regards to self-promotion. Here's what I think is key:

I understand the temptation to self-promote at every turn (and I agree with it to a certain extent). But aren't we missing the point here if we think that writing two or three lines in a comment reply and then pitching our site or book link will bring the readers we want?

I think it comes from short-sighted goals on our side. We think the goal is to sell books. But the real goal is give readers (whether they're reading our comments or our books) something of value. Every time we write we are competing for a reader's time and attention. When we educate or entertain, people pay attention. If not, they're on to something else. Think of all the web sites you visit regularly. They give you something of value. That's why you go back to them. And these are the readers you want for your books. Readers like yourself. Sometimes I think we expect readers to act differently than we do.

The point is this: Anything you write is an advertisement for you as a writer. Every comment, tweet, or blog post has an impression on readers, so make it good. The best promotion you can do to get others to look at your books is to write well and have something to say wherever and whenever you write.

Materurbium
www.materurbium.com

knight_tour

Re: The secret to self-promotion

Post by knight_tour » June 20th, 2011, 12:18 pm

I love Prague. It's the most beautiful city in the world, in my opinion. I'm moving to Budapest this summer.