Periods of Feast or Famine

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
Mark.W.Carson

Periods of Feast or Famine

Post by Mark.W.Carson » February 5th, 2012, 10:55 pm

So... After burning through about 4 chapters this weekend, after not being able to do more than say 1000 words per sitting, I am wondering, who else has these periods where things seem to click and others where it just seems to take forever?

I realize a lot of it still might be a bit rough, but I can go over and clean things up if I have to. I have some wonderful people helping me with reading over my work, and I should thank them more than I have, probably, but I am new to this and wanted to compare my experience with a few other people.

AMSchilling

Re: Periods of Feast or Famine

Post by AMSchilling » February 6th, 2012, 1:22 am

I've had that same experience a lot, especially with my current WIP. I started it during Nano in November, and I'd have days where I'd do over 3k for a while and then poof, nothing. The last week especially--if I remember right I was in one of the slower spots where getting anything out was like swimming in mud, and I didn't think I was going to make the 50k goal. Then all of a sudden things clicked and I got out 8k in a day to finish.

The feast and famine thing used to bug me because I felt like the days I got nothing down were wasted. I worried I might be losing the flow of the book when it became hard like that. Now I've gotten used to it a little more and just go with it. If I stare at the screen and get nothing, I shut things down and just read a book or do something mindless. I usually find that in a day or two something clicks and I'm back at it again, typing like crazy and having fun.
-Amy

"Write with the door closed, rewrite with the door open." - Stephen King

http://www.amschilling.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/AM-Schill ... 9869525150

klbritt

Post by klbritt » February 6th, 2012, 10:02 am