Pitch help? (YA)

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
otherside89girl

Pitch help? (YA)

Post by otherside89girl » July 31st, 2011, 8:17 pm

*edit*

Thanks so much for the help :)

(I deleted my pitch out of sheer embarrassment, but I will take the advice to heart!)
Last edited by otherside89girl on August 1st, 2011, 1:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

wordranger

Re: Pitch help? (YA)

Post by wordranger » July 31st, 2011, 9:10 pm

Ugh! I HATE pitches. I am not an expert BY FAR.... But I'm not sure that this really tells what the story is about.
It starts to tell us, but it started to lose me here...

but realizes with the help of her broken family and strange new friend Benny that the truly awesome person need not rely on partying to lead a life of awesomeness.

I'm not really sure that this tells what your story is about. What really happens? Again, I am not an expert, and I am struggling with my pitch, too.

Have you looked at Pitch University? They have a lot of great information there on pitching and queries. You might want to check it out. Here's the link

http://www.pitch-university.com/school- ... -your.html

By the way, there is a section in this forum for stuff like this. Look under "Feedback Central"
Words are your friend.
Don't be afraid to lose yourself in them.

Jennifer Eaton, WordRanger
My Novelette LAST WINTER RED will be published by J. Taylor Publishing in December, 2012

Take a Step into My World and Learn From My Mistakes http://www.jennifermeaton.com/

polymath

Post by polymath » July 31st, 2011, 9:47 pm

Workshoppers I've encountered ask, "What's the conflict?" Dramatic conflict is as an elusive and taken for granted buzz phrase that's difficult to pin down let alone master, like show and tell. A similar, simpler, and more easily accessible literary concept is dramatic complication.