Semi-autobiographical Novel

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
Aimée

Semi-autobiographical Novel

Post by Aimée » January 29th, 2011, 9:16 pm

The main problem that people have when ready my stuff, they tell me, is connecting with the characters. I've really been focusing on this for the past few months, and I think the problem is that I've been writing about people and places I know nothing about. I don't know anything about Englishmen photographers in their thirties. I don't know anything about the foster care system in Texas in the seventies. And I certainly don't know anything about French immigrant chefs working for drug cartels in New York. So in order to try to make readers be able to connect with the characters better, I decided to write about a female college student in Michigan, a person about whom I am an absolute expert.

Channeling Jack Kerouac, I decided to integrate my own experiences into my writing. My question is to my wonderful writer friends is how far is too far? Where is the line between fiction and fact? I changed the names of people and some characteristics, but there are events in my story that my friends would definitely recognize if they read it. Are there any rules about semi-autobiographical novels when it comes to publishing? Not that I would be publishing it any time soon. It's hardly even a quarter of the way written.

So yeah. What do you think?

Holly

Re: Semi-autobiographical Novel

Post by Holly » January 29th, 2011, 9:39 pm

Most writers draw on their experiences to some degree.

However, I don't want to hurt or embarrass people, or stoop to revenge -- so my awful sister will never end up in a story, which is too bad, because she would make a great character. I don't want to be that kind of a person, if that makes sense.

However, the mugger who robbed me at gunpoint in D.C. ended up in a novel, which was fine.

cheekychook

Post by cheekychook » January 29th, 2011, 10:30 pm