How do you write?

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
oldhousejunkie

How do you write?

Post by oldhousejunkie » September 6th, 2010, 3:09 pm

While I have been working on my MS for ten years, I have just now ventured into the world of writing forums. Being exposed to other writers and their quirks has been great, but one thing I have noticed is that a lot of writers have multiple drafts of their MS.

I don't and have begun to wonder if I am doomed to failure as a result. I generally write, go back and read, and then re-write to tweak things or to achieve the effect that I'm looking for. I have one completed draft of my MS, but it has been revised multiple times throughout the writing process; that's why I have been preparing my query and synopsis. I believe with a few tweaks, it will be ready. I just can't see myself going through four and five drafts of this MS. Obviously, when I do send it out, and if I receive requests for partials or fulls, but don't get anywhere, then a re-write will be considered.

So how do you write? Is there anyone else out there who writes like me? If not, please tell me that I have not labored in vain for ten years!

AMSchilling

Re: How do you write?

Post by AMSchilling » September 6th, 2010, 3:14 pm

As Douglas Adams said, "Don't Panic!" I think everyone just has a slightly different approach. I tend to be the type who writes garbage for a first draft, just to get it all down, and then lets the perfectionist take over which results in about 7 full revisions of the MS. That doesn't mean it's the "right" way to do it. It's just what worked for me.

Some people do better writing the first draft as perfectly as they can, which results in fewer edits down the road. What's important is what works for YOU.
-Amy

"Write with the door closed, rewrite with the door open." - Stephen King

http://www.amschilling.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/AM-Schill ... 9869525150

Quill