Rookie Mistakes?

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
Ishta

Rookie Mistakes?

Post by Ishta » June 18th, 2010, 5:35 pm

I've noticed a few posts here and there about people noticing "rookie mistakes", and Nathan mentioned them in his blog, so I'm wondering: what are the big ones? I'm a rookie, and I'd love to know what the usual rookie mistakes are so I can avoid them!

Margo

Re: Rookie Mistakes?

Post by Margo » June 18th, 2010, 7:02 pm

These are just a matter of opinion, of course, but I feel like my biggest rookie mistakes have been:

-trying to argue with crits (Take 'em or leave 'em, but don't argue.)
-querying too soon
-not taking the time to really really really learn my genre and the industry (much easier in the Internet age)
-not approaching professional writing as a serious business (I don't feel like writing; I'm not inspired. I really need 200k words or seven books for a story this complex. I don't need to learn craft and structure; I'm an artist.)

Or were you thinking about mistakes from the craft perspective? I have a whoooole 'nother set of those.
Urban fantasy, epic fantasy, and hot Norse elves. http://margolerwill.blogspot.com/

Down the well

Post by Down the well » June 18th, 2010, 7:29 pm

I agree with Margo that querying too soon is a huge rookie mistake. Once a novel is written it takes a lot of input from other people to get it into publishable shape. I think most "experienced" writers know that their work needs to go through the filter of a critique group or set of trusted readers before sending it off for consideration by an agent or editor.

Also, I think "rookies" underestimate the competition. There are some damn good writers out there getting rejected every day. It's a long, hard slog to publication. For some, It can take years and years of dedicated writing to finally hit on something that the industry thinks is both well-written and commercial enough to take a risk on.

maybegenius