The Introduction Thread

New member introductions, suggestions for the Forums, questions about posting, and important announcements.
craig

The Introduction Thread

Post by craig » February 14th, 2010, 11:42 pm

Hey all -- I'm new here and don't know anybody, so I thought I'd introduce myself. I did a quick search and couldn't find a pre-existing intro thread, so I'm starting one! *cackles madly with power*

My name's craig and I come from Canada -- one of the colder parts of Canada and no it's not the frozen north. I write sci-fi, particularly stuff with darker themes and dystopian elements, but without descending into true dystopia... hope that made sense. I wrote one novel a few years ago and couldn't sell it, so I stuck it in a drawer, got busy with work for a year or two, and then started on my second novel. I'm nearing completion of my first draft now -- but with work and university (I'm a part-time masters student), who knows how long it will take me to get around to it, even though there's only about 13,000 words to go.

Anybody else want to introduce themselves? I'd like to know more about who y'all are! I'm a long-time reader of Nathan's blog, but this is my first foray into the forums...

marilyn peake

Re: The Introduction Thread

Post by marilyn peake » February 15th, 2010, 3:31 pm

Hi, Craig – Nice to meet you!

I write in various genres – so far, science fiction and fantasy, most of it with a literary edge, and some stories with a political thriller component. I’ve had a trilogy of novels published by small press, and numerous short stories published in small press anthologies. I’ve also compiled and edited two nonfiction books about writing, also published by small press – both books won awards in the ForeWord Magazine Book of the Year Awards against some formidable competitors.

All my published works, reviews and awards are on my website, along with some of my photography: http://www.marilynpeake.com .