Big Picture Reader for YA fantasy mystery

Critique partners are worth their weight in gold. So (checking financial page) like $20,000 a pound.
sarahdee

Big Picture Reader for YA fantasy mystery

Post by sarahdee » December 2nd, 2010, 12:05 am

I am halfway through a draft of a ms that is completely out of genre for me. Yeah, okay I admit, it was a Nano attempt but I was a bad Nano writer and edited along the way so while I failed to reach 50k, I do have 30k which I think is in good shape.

I'm at that stage where I don't know if to bin it as a laughable Nano attempt, or edit edit edit and try and do something with it. As I said its not my usual genre so I'm at a loss to know if its any good or complete pants (I like but I'm a little biased as its been great fun to write).

I'm not looking for someone to read throughly but perhaps someone who writes in the genre (YA mystery/adventure/fantasy) to have a quick skim through and tell me what they think.

Here's a very quick synopsis.

Mags is a 94 year old witch who works for a secret witch society called the Custodians. This society protects witches from humans (and vice versa), lays down the witch laws and gets involved on other sorts of magic when needed (Mags last assignment was dragon slaying in Chile). Henri is her sidekick and also her almost stepfather since he dated her now deceased mother. He's the planner to her panster. Jacob is a local lad who accidentally drank the wrong tea and ended up with superstength. He's mostly just confused.

The three of them are in a small English village (its the 1920s) trying to find someone who wants to stay hidden. Why is a mystery, the Custodians are always a little vague in their assignments, but as another society, this one evil, are trying to find this person too Mags knows its important. Especially when her sister, the evil Valdheeta, turns up in town.

Its an action adventure type thing, and I hope, humerous!