First Page - Help Needed! YA

Post excerpts from your works in progress and give feedback to your fellow writers.
skinguk

First Page - Help Needed! YA

Post by skinguk » June 3rd, 2011, 7:08 am

Hi all. I am new to all of this. I have been reading the blog and forum for awhile while working on my first book. I have just finished it and gone through about two edits and am now beginning to feel the need for outside edits and commentary, so I appreciate anything you can provide. This is from my first page, which is actually a prologue. Thank you very much for any comments/edits/critique/etc.

Title: The Reception
Genre: YA

Autumn stood outside the door wondering what she would find inside. All she needed to do was open it, but she hesitated nonetheless.

It was different from the last time. There was another like her actually here, she could just tell. And this person did not quite fall into that imaginary world person - or whatever it was - she was beginning to get used to.

After taking a deep breath in and unconsciously holding it, Autumn opened the door and stepped into a kitchen. To her left was a giant oven and to her right a door that Autumn knew instinctively led down to a cellar. In front of her was a large, wooden, central butcher’s block that was completely out of place with the rest of the kitchen, which enjoyed matching counter-tops and colored tiles on the floor. Linoleum. Even the odd looking appliances matched in a very sanitized way. Everything was spotless. But everything felt forced, as if carefully put together in an attempt to show that it was a happy kitchen.