The start of The Guilds End (936 words)

Post excerpts from your works in progress and give feedback to your fellow writers.
DrifterNZ

The start of The Guilds End (936 words)

Post by DrifterNZ » November 7th, 2020, 5:20 pm

Hi,
As a first time writer, I have alot of doubts in my work. Could you please look over the begining of my fantasy novel, The Guilds End, and give me some feedback on what I have written and how to improve it.?
Many thanks in advance.

Chapter 1

Neros entered the large hall. On the floor, two large pentagrams had been drawn with white sand. In the centre of the first pentagram, was an old rickety chair with a large wooden pail of water beside it. The second pentagram held a young boy tied to a wooden pole. Nobody knew his name or where he had come from, but that didn’t matter. He was dangerous and had to be dealt with straight away. The introductions could be done later when he had been made safe.

After checking the sand for breaks, Neros placed ruby-coloured crystals on each of the endpoints of the star. Then where the lines intersected one another he placed green crystals. On the second pentagram, Neros placed crystals the same positions as the first pentagram but reversed the colours. Then he sat down on the old rickety chair and took stock of the young boy in front of him.