Query (Writer's Block YA Fantasy)

Share your blood sweat tears query for feedback and lend your hard-won expertise to others
Lunetta22

Query (Writer's Block YA Fantasy)

Post by Lunetta22 » February 19th, 2010, 10:45 pm

I'm not very good at writing queries, so please help as much as you can. :)

Dear Agent,

No one knows what happens to characters when their author finishes the book. Nicholas Tremain isn’t ready to find out. He gives his author, Anne, writer’s block and enters a realm of fiction where characters live while their authors are unable to write. Nicholas learns from his roommate Scott that it is possible to enter reality and become real.

Nicholas’ time to become real is limited. At any moment Anne could begin writing again, which would instantly send him back to the book. Also, he is not the only fictional character in Reality. Fictional characters have roamed Reality for centuries, seeking their authors in order to become Real. Real people call them “supernatural”, and they are drawn to Nicholas.

Nicholas decides that the best way to distract Anne from writing is to date her. Even in reality Anne controls his thoughts and feelings. Whatever she says about him instantly becomes true. When she plays a game of “he loves me, he loves me not,” he falls in love with her.

Before Nicholas can tell Anne that he loves her, (and potentially ruin their relationship because real people don’t fall in love in three days time) the fictional villain from the book, the Baron Thomas Farent enters reality and attacks Nicholas in his apartment. Nicholas is forced to use his magic to protect Anne, but in the midst of the duel he becomes real and loses all of his power. The Baron drags both Nicholas and Anne into fiction. Nicholas manages to distract the Baron long enough for Anne to escape, but he is imprisoned in the heart of the Beastlands.