Query -- Platinum Donkeys

Share your blood sweat tears query for feedback and lend your hard-won expertise to others
Remus Shepherd

Query -- Platinum Donkeys

Post by Remus Shepherd » February 10th, 2010, 11:06 am

All right, after various events I feel better about asking here for some advice. :)

If you don't mind, tell me what you think of this:
Dear (Agent):

They are mad geniuses; ugly but adaptable, stubborn but strong. They are the Platinum Donkeys, and Maggie -- a sexy TV host turned serial-killer -- is their latest recruit. While Maggie tries to recover her sanity in a world where nothing creative can be trusted, the Platinum Donkeys force her to make a choice: Either save the world, or destroy it and rule as their queen.

Platinum Donkeys is a fast-paced, 87,000 word science fiction novel set in a surreal future Earth. With your permission, I'd like to send you an excerpt and synopsis of the novel.

I am a physicist who works with remote sensing satellites, and I am a graduate of the 2007 Viable Paradise writer's workshop. I have had short fiction published in the semi-pro magazines Futures Mystery Anthology and Inquest, and I have had a successful sci-fi webcomic.

This is my third full-length novel, although none have yet been published. I am at the beginning of what I hope will be a lengthy second career writing science fiction novels, and at this stage I am seeking long-term representation.

I'm looking forward to hearing from you. Thank you for your time.
The story blurb is short and to the point. The rest is introducing myself to the agent. Not sure that the balance is right, but I think it's a valid strategy. There'll be many novels in our working relationship, but there's only one me.

I know the main problem with the story blurb; my protagonist does not, at first glance, appear sympathetic. But those are the kind of stories I write, I just need an agent for whom that kind of story appeals.

Anyway, your opinions are greatly appreciated. Thanks!