The Reception - Revised

Share your blood sweat tears query for feedback and lend your hard-won expertise to others
skinguk

The Reception - Revised

Post by skinguk » July 12th, 2011, 10:21 am

Okay. This is my first attempt at a query (never done one for this or anything else before; I am new to the game). All advice is REALLY appreciated.

Thank you!

Dear [AGENT],

Autumn was supposed to be smart enough not to get herself stuck in the wall of a vacant house, but at twelve years old you are not always as smart as you, and perhaps everyone else, thinks you are.

She didn’t know what caused her to end up at the vacant house on that day. Whether it was to escape her family falling apart or because she was suddenly reminded for the first time in a while of the disappearance of her best friend Kayla or because she just wanted to be by herself for a while didn’t, in the end, really matter. What did matter was she was stuck. If Autumn only knew then that being stuck in the wall was just the beginning of her problems.

A sudden and irrational fear of something in the wall sends Autumn reeling through it into the living room of a house that isn’t so vacant and a town that looks as if it comes straight from old television shows. Though Autumn has no idea what is going on, the people in the town seem almost to be expecting Autumn and, unlike the people in those TV shows, aren’t so hospitable.

Autumn soon learns being alone is not as peaceful as it seems and the boundaries between reality and fiction are not always so clear. And sometimes, to get home, you need to be wary of the fairy godmother.

THE RECEPTION, a Young Adult novel complete at 78,000 words, is my first novel. Thank you for your time and consideration.
Last edited by skinguk on January 5th, 2012, 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

oldhousejunkie

Re: The Reception - First Attempt

Post by oldhousejunkie » July 12th, 2011, 4:02 pm