QUERY -- THE FERRYMAN -- Revision No. 1

Share your blood sweat tears query for feedback and lend your hard-won expertise to others
Mark17

QUERY -- THE FERRYMAN -- Revision No. 1

Post by Mark17 » October 17th, 2010, 10:06 pm

Hi all, thanks for all the advice.
Version No. 2 is
viewtopic.php?f=13&t=2631#p30440

Thanks in advance for any and all feedback, this is my first attempt at a Query. Of course I'm most worried about whether this is an effective query that makes you want to read more but I'm also wondering if the tenses are used properly.

Dear Agent,

Charlie wants what any man wants: love, adventure and the coins of recently deceased souls.

He thought an afterlife as a ferryman was a lucky break. That gondola-rowing skeleton on his T-Shirt sure seems satisfied. But somewhere around the time his 32nd deckhand jumped into the Sea of Lost Souls, the weight of eternity started sinking in.

Complicating matters, his favorite captain’s been sent to ‘reeducation’ by a bureaucratic angel obsessed with uniform adjustments, the Ferry Group is dealing with an infestation of graven images and the girl worth staying for is still clueless that her boyfriend, the self-declared ‘mayor’ of Paradise, is an idiot, not to mention secretly German.

His debts have been paid off. Charlie’s ready to move on and ascend. Maybe become the spirit guide to a zookeeper or a forest ranger. Alongside his two best friends, a fat fallen angel and an educated fool, he embarks on his final season in the Underworld. He hopes. But as he ponders the meaning of his afterlife, what really goes on in the Sea of Lost Souls, how jet-skis even work and what’s happening on that island full of sugar-crazed children with no eyes, he’ll realize that enlightenment could be closer than he thought. Maybe he’ll even tell that girl, the Foucault-quoting barefoot waitress, how he really feels. If there’s time.