Search found 9 matches

by taymalin
November 19th, 2010, 2:56 pm
Forum: Nominate Your Query or First Page for a Critique on the Blog
Topic: Query Critique Friday 11/19/10
Replies: 11
Views: 13013

Re: Query Critique Friday 11/19/10

I'd like to throw my vote in for a name change too, just in case it helps. I read the name, and that's all I could concentrate on. I thought that the name choice might have been deliberate (it could work in a certain type of comedy) but obviously this is not a comedy. Though, I could see someone nam...
by taymalin
December 17th, 2009, 8:23 pm
Forum: Writing
Topic: What works better for you: praise or critique?
Replies: 24
Views: 4790

Re: What works better for you: praise or critique?

Depends. I will sometimes ask friends to read the story I'm drafting. At this point I am only seeking praise, and will let them know that. During the drafting phase criticism kills the muse and feed the inner editor, so it is not at all helpful in terms of motivating me. On the other hand, when I am...
by taymalin
December 10th, 2009, 12:20 am
Forum: Queries
Topic: The Light of Epertase
Replies: 18
Views: 4504

Re: The Light of Epertase

I like it! As far as worrying about explaining concepts goes, you seem to have it nailed down. The only problem I had was with part of the second paragraph: When an unstoppable army threatens the kingdom of Epertase, a magical force sets into motion the violent end of King Elijah’s rule with hopes ...
by taymalin
December 9th, 2009, 11:56 am
Forum: Self-Publishing
Topic: Hachette and S&S to Delay Release of E-books
Replies: 14
Views: 4382

Re: Hachette and S&S to Delay Release of E-books

Honestly, the whole waiting for a paperback to come out because I can't afford the hardcover thing irritates me. Especially since I read a lot of series and am anxious for the next book to come out. I've shelled out $35 cdn and more for a hardcover book, which seems like a good idea for the profit m...
by taymalin
December 9th, 2009, 10:48 am
Forum: Writing
Topic: Do you write the same genre you read?
Replies: 46
Views: 12528

Re: Do you write the same genre you read?

I definitely write the same genre I read. I'm a huge fan of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files, Kim Harrison, Kelly Armstrong and Laurell K. Hamilton--to name a few. I write Urban Fantasy. I've tried other genres, (eg. mainstream, high fantasy, SF, romance), but I don't enjoy those genres as much and it sh...
by taymalin
December 9th, 2009, 10:20 am
Forum: Finding An Agent
Topic: Mentioning other authors
Replies: 2
Views: 1089

Re: Mentioning other authors

AFAIK it is ok to mention other authors in terms of identifying your target audience. "This book will appeal to fans of Jim Butcher and Kim Harrison". However, it is not ok to compare the book to other authors' books. "This book is like Harry Potter, but better!" "It's just like The Davinci Code!" O...
by taymalin
December 8th, 2009, 8:20 am
Forum: Queries
Topic: Query for Debut novel
Replies: 18
Views: 3803

Re: Query for Debut novel

Hi Cameron! I really like the premise for your story, and I think that with a little work you will have a solid query letter that will garner response. [quote="casnow"] It’s called the fight or flight instinct, but in reality it is a probability analysis made from thousands of pieces of data that o...
by taymalin
December 7th, 2009, 11:51 pm
Forum: Writing
Topic: Outline or Out of the Mist?
Replies: 50
Views: 12073

Re: Outline or Out of the Mist?

I outline using "the Marshall Plan". Well, a modified version of the plan in any case. I used to write by the seat of my pants, but I found that it lead to too many false starts. I'd start a story and run out of gas part way through because I'd write myself into a corner I just couldn't find a way o...
by taymalin
December 7th, 2009, 10:52 pm
Forum: Queries
Topic: Query Help needed
Replies: 12
Views: 4283

Re: Query Help needed

[quote="pabrown"] Query for barrio boyz In a dark barrio world where violence is as sudden and final as a gunshot in the night a man seeks to save the ones he loves and redeem himself for the ones he failed. I’m seeking representation for BARRIO BOYZ, an 89,000 word contemporary urban novel set in t...