Self published author newly looking for an agent

Submission protocol, query etiquette, and strategies that work
HoldinHolden

Self published author newly looking for an agent

Post by HoldinHolden » July 16th, 2012, 9:21 pm

Hi all!

I am a self-published author (why I went that route is a long story in and of itself) who is now hoping to pick up an agent and a deal with a publishing house. My book has received 81 5-star reviews on Amazon in just 8 months, and I have a large Facebook following, which would make one wonder why I would ever want to go any other route with such great feedback- and the simple answer is saturation. My reach only goes so far.
Basically I am hoping just to be able to pick some brains, so i'll try to keep it short.
I believe in my book, it is based off of my blog (yes I am a blogger too) and my experiences as a mother in the digital age. It's funny, kind of gross, and brutally honest (I have been called "The Howard Stern of Mommy Blogging") but also touches on some serious subjects such as disappointment, death, and extreme cyber-bullying when it comes to the types of things you write online (which we all do these days, whether it be Facebook or a blog or anything else).

This is where I run into problems when it comes to querying. I have no idea how to sum up something that touches on so many subjects in order to really get the idea of my book out there (without droning on and on about it).
How would one go about doing something like that? How would you choose to (and yes, I realize you have not read my work so this is just a blanket question at best)? Do you say it's funny and sad, serious and hilarious? It's been the hardest part for me to figure out, because the book really is a balance of the two.

One last question (sorry!):
When it comes to submitting pages of my work, as I have noticed some agents require it with the query- what part is the best to choose? The most dramatic? The funniest?