What's your editing style?

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
klbritt

What's your editing style?

Post by klbritt » August 22nd, 2012, 8:23 pm

I was talking with a friend today about writing and the subject came up regarding editing your WIP. I thought about it and came to the conclusion that I am a paper and red pen editor. Meaning - I will print my MS and then do edits with a red pen.

How do you edit? Print the MS and jot your corrections/thoughts on the paper, or are you an on-screen editor? I'm hoping that I will turn into an on-screen editor so I don't have to use so much paper and printer ink...not very cost effective or environmentally friendly :D

~Kristie
~Kristie

-: Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read - Groucho Marx :-

http://www.BKRivers.blogspot.com

Sommer Leigh

Re: What's your editing style?

Post by Sommer Leigh » August 22nd, 2012, 9:59 pm

I am an on-screen editor. The idea of printing everything out and marking it up on paper and then having to transfer all of that onto the screen makes me kind of have a panic attack. I'd much rather do everything on screen at once as I go. I do have a sweet notecard system that I use to figure out plot and pacing problems, which is about the only form of editing I do that is not on screen. I can also do this process in excel, but I enjoy buying note cards, highlighters, and post-it notes too much. The excel version wasn't nearly as satisfying when I tried it.
May the word counts be ever in your favor. http://www.sommerleigh.com
Be nice, or I get out the Tesla cannon.

wilderness

Post by wilderness » August 22nd, 2012, 10:02 pm