Ages of main characters in YA novels

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
saraflower

Ages of main characters in YA novels

Post by saraflower » June 12th, 2011, 10:13 am

Maybe this will sound silly. I was wondering, does the main character need to be under 18 for a book to be YA? I always thought so, but I was wondering if there is some kind of guideline on what would make the story YA. For example, the content could be written for teens, but some of the characters might be slightly older than them (i.e. Early 20`s). Would it work?

Doug Pardee

Re: Ages of main characters in YA novels

Post by Doug Pardee » June 12th, 2011, 10:52 am

There is no "never" or "always" in the creative arts. ;)

That said — and I am not an expert in these matters, not even close — I think the problem with older characters in YA is that they're harder for teens to identify with, because their perspectives and concerns in life are different. College challenges are different from high-school challenges. Work-force challenges are even more different. Being in love starts to carry with it the serious possibility of marriage. Many older characters will be emancipated, living on their own, perhaps with someone else to help pay the rent, and parents aren't such an issue. Money, however, is an issue, which can lead to jobs being an issue. Having sex isn't "should I or shouldn't I", but rather "Whom can/should I do it with?"

A few years ago, St. Martin's Press tried to create a new category for post-teen readers. They called it New Adult, and probably the canonical posting on the matter is this one: http://sjaejones.com/blog/2009/postadol ... t-fiction/ which includes this observation among many: