Nanowrimo

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
WilliamMJones

Nanowrimo

Post by WilliamMJones » October 1st, 2010, 10:03 pm

Not sure if this belongs here or all things writing.

The 2010 Nanowrimo site just went up. Anyone else a wrimo?
If you want to add me as a buddy, my username is fantasyfreak_18.

Claudie

Re: Nanowrimo

Post by Claudie » October 2nd, 2010, 11:51 am

I am a WriMo, an ML, and a complete addict. I've been waiting for the site relaunch since... December 2009? Or about. ;)

I'm known as Annalia over there.
"I do not think there is any thrill [...] like that felt by the inventor as he sees some creation of the brain unfolding to success... Such emotions make a man forget food, sleep, friends, love, everything." -- Nikola Tesla

Margo

Post by Margo » October 2nd, 2010, 12:37 pm

I've never done NaNoWriMo before, but I'm seriously considering it because I have a partial request for a book I have yet to write (it was an accident). I checked out the website. How does the buddy thing work? Is it supposed to be a way for us to be accountable to one another and encourage one another to make our word counts?
Urban fantasy, epic fantasy, and hot Norse elves. http://margolerwill.blogspot.com/

Holly

Post by Holly » October 2nd, 2010, 1:02 pm

I signed up for it last year, but didn't intend to write a 50,000 word draft. I went to all the write-ins at a local college and coffee shop and worked on the novel I'm about to finish this fall. It was a lot of fun and very, very helpful -- we spent two to six hours writing in a room with each other several times a week. Our group has stayed in touch, too, which is nice.

Can't decide whether I will sign up this year -- if so, I will only go to the write-ins again. I know you can just talk to other writers on the website, but I recommend the write-ins.

WilliamMJones

Post by WilliamMJones » October 2nd, 2010, 2:13 pm