Are you a Crafter or an Artist?

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
Mira

Are you a Crafter or an Artist?

Post by Mira » August 3rd, 2010, 12:55 pm

I read a book recently that said there are two types of writers. I'm not sure if the book included these names, but I use the terms Crafter and Artist.

Both types will use both Craft and Art in their work, but their motivation and goals are different.

The Crafter looks toward writing as a profession and income source.

The Artist looks toward writing as a creative outlet for self-expression and communication.

Which one are you?

Also, Artists and Crafters tend to give each other a hard time, so I have a follow-up question:

Can't we all just get along????

As for me, I'm an Artist, but some of my best friends are Crafters.

Quill

Re: Are you a Crafter or an Artist?

Post by Quill » August 3rd, 2010, 1:25 pm

Margo, front and center!

I confess that I am an artist. I do fine arts, too. Expression is my number one motivation.

This doesn't mean I ignore craft. I consider myself a craftsman, too. I was a carpenter/cabinet maker for many years. I make my living as a craftsman now.

I respect both enough to incorporate them (in almost everything I do), but I am an artist at heart.

craig

Post by craig » August 3rd, 2010, 1:40 pm

Hmm...

Is it possible to be a bit of both?

My writing stems out of artistry -- I have stories stuck in my head that I need to get out on paper. I write because I'm compelled to write.

At the same time, being a bit of a dreamer -- I'd love to make a living as a published novelist -- so I guess that makes me a bit of a crafter, too.

polymath

Post by polymath » August 3rd, 2010, 1:41 pm