Funding My Book Through KickStarter; Any Tips?

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
AuthorRobSigmon

Funding My Book Through KickStarter; Any Tips?

Post by AuthorRobSigmon » April 1st, 2015, 4:34 pm

Hello from Colorado!

My name is Rob and I have been working on writing my book, Fenar, for several years. I am finally ready to get it published and have started a Kickstarter campaign to fund the publishing and marketing costs. If anyone here has gone through the process and has any advice for me, I'd love to here it. I have created a website with a video and links to the Kickstarter page and social media. The website is fenarbook.com if you would like to see what I've done so far.

Thanks! I look forward to getting to know everyone!

Rob Sigmon

polymath

Re: Funding My Book Through KickStarter; Any Tips?

Post by polymath » April 2nd, 2015, 2:16 pm

My stock answer: Marketing's four corners are, packaging, advertising, promotion, and publicity.

Kickstarter and any cloud funding service manages the latter three and are usually or exclusively the primary emphasis for marketing campaigns, institutional and self-publication. Packaging usually only involves physical package design: cover art, content layout, and typeface, etc. The first, foremost, and last consideration is package an appealing product. That one is often short-shrifted.

The sample I sampled opens with a dreary prologue and other prefatory content. Once I got though that, the main action continued in the same vein. Frankly, I don't believe the product is ready for debut.

At this time, the main strength which recommends the project to me is the effort and time expenditure exhibited. All writing is worth the effort. At this time, though, more development I feel is warranted.
Spread the love of written word.

shelbysimpson

Re: Funding My Book Through KickStarter; Any Tips?

Post by shelbysimpson » December 8th, 2015, 12:15 pm

Heya Kickstarter consider-er,