3 Punctuation Marks to Incorporate Into Your Writing Today

The writing process, writing advice, and updates on your work in progress
longknife

3 Punctuation Marks to Incorporate Into Your Writing Today

Post by longknife » February 2nd, 2014, 7:36 pm

Posted: 01/31/2014 on HuffPost

Most people don't spend much time thinking about punctuation. We're not most people. When properly used, punctuation can enhance the rhythm of your writing or change its meaning entirely. And yet too many people rely on a scant handful of marks to express themselves.

As a writer, I enjoyed this piece. It also happens to include my favorite one – the em dash. Read it and some links @ http://www.huffingtonpost.com/grammarly ... 02255.html
Drop by Father Serra's Legacy http://msgdaleday.blogspot.com. Comments always eagerly awaited - but only if you find the item interesting enough to respond to.

polymath

Re: 3 Punctuation Marks to Incorporate Into Your Writing Today

Post by polymath » February 3rd, 2014, 12:46 am

A couple of misplaced commas in the blog post and missing the fourth more artful punctuation mark: the colon. Ellipsis points--not per se an ellipsis, but points marking the rhetorical figure of ellipsis--are easily and frequently overused, misused, and abused. My ranking for artful punctuation after commas, periods, and question marks is em dash, semicolon, colon. Ellipsis points I give as much value as exclamation marks. The blog post advises on formal writing punctuation principles but not creative writing punctuation principles.

Uses of the comma are manifold, more than thirty distinguishable uses, as many as a hundred uses in exacting principle details. Check a grammar handbook and style manual for discerning guidance in those regards, for periods and question marks too.